ABC Bars *Whole30

Are you a fan of apples, bananas, and cinnamon? Well, all of the flavors in these bars work so well together! These ingredients were already on the shelf in my pantry, so I did a little experimenting and was very happy with the results. Then I had some friends taste them and they were also pleased with the crunchy sweetness followed by a little citrus bite from the dried apple. And they are so easy to make!

All found at Publix. As you see here, I had green and red apples on hand.

While on Whole30, I am always experimenting in the kitchen but fruit and nut bars become a staple in my diet. I always need healthy snacks that I can take to work. These are packed with all kinds of deliciousness that keep me from being hangry between means. No one wants a hangry teacher!


ABC Bars

  • Servings: 16
  • Difficulty: easy
  • Print

This recipe was an experiment with the remaining ingredients in my pantry. I love when experiments turn out to be so delicious!

Ingredients

  • 1 cup dates not packed down (8 dates), soaked in hot water for 10 minutes ahead of time
  • 1 cup of half dried apples, half dried bananas
  • 1/2 cup pecans
  • 1/2 cup cashews
  • 1/4 cup unsweetened shredded coconut
  • 1/4 cup almond butter -mixed well beforehand
  • 1 tsp cinnamon

Directions

  1. After soaking the dates, place them in a large food processor and mix until gooey.
  2. Add dried fruit and mix until well chopped.
  3. Add nuts, blend until well combined.
  4. Add almond butter, shredded coconut, and cinnamon. Blend until well combined.
  5. Dump all ingredients into an 8×8 Pyrex lined with parchment paper.
  6. With clean hands, press down firmly until all ingredients are flattened evenly.
  7. Refrigerate overnight before eating or freeze for at least an hour.
  8. Pop the parchment paper out of the pan and cut into the size you prefer! Enjoy!

Leave a comment